A critical goal of the Caribbean Plant Health Director Forum is to increase communication and the transparent exchange of sanitary information among Caribbean Countries.

The Forum envisions itself as becoming the Region’s Plant Protection Organization and at the Fifth Meeting of the CPHD Forum at Scrub Island Hotel, BVI in 2012, the forum took steps to formalize it position in the Regions’ agricultural sector which involved the election an executive to include a Chair, Co Chair and Technical Secretary to better support the activities and needs of the CPHD.


The most recently elected executives are highlighted below.

Chairman Mr. Nelson Laville Read More
Co-Chair Dr. Janil Gore-Francis Read More
Technical Secretary Mr. Damian C. Rowe Read More
CAHFSA/RPPO Mrs. Juliet Goldsmith Read More


An aspect of the CPHDs’ drive is to form a plant health organization comprising all Caribbean countries as well as a series of technical working groups (also referred to as TWGs) under the annual meeting of the CPHD Forum:

  • Emergency Preparedness Plans and Mechanisms for Response
  • Molluscs
  • Safeguarding
  • The Fruit Fly
  • Palm Pest Complex
  • Musa
  • Communications
  • CPDN
  • Technical Committee on the Formulation and Prioritization of a Regional Pest List

Each of these technical working groups is lead by a Chairperson. These chairpersons are highlighted below.

Chair – Molluscs To be appointed in 2023 Read More
Chair – Communications To be appointed in 2023 Read More
Chair – Regional Pest List Mr. Naitram Ramnanan Read More
Chair – CPDN Ms. Deanne Vijayanti Ramroop Read More
Chair – Palm Pest Complex Ms. Teresa Rosemond Read More
Chair – Musa Mr. Nelson Laville Read More
Chair – Safeguarding Mrs. Karen Barrett-Christie Read More
Chair – Fruit Fly Mrs. Alies van-Sauers Muller Read More
Chair – Emergency Preparedness Dr. Janil Gore-Francis Read More